My New BFF Is A Gallon Sized Freezer Bag…

One thing to know about me is that sometimes I am sadly NOT internally motivated to do things that need to be and/or should be done. Would I have ever signed up to run two 10K’s last year without my friend wanting a group of us to run one for her 40th birthday?

A-ha-ha-ha-ha….NO.

How about cleaning my house vs. just wiping it down sometimes if there isn’t a group of people coming over for a party?

Exactly.

Reading my Bible if there’s no study group to prepare for?

ūüė¶ *sigh*

You get the picture. The nutshell version is that I do better with a group of people and deadlines motivating me. This is why when my friend invited me to a freezer meal party I was excited. Hanging out with a group of friends, having a glass of wine (or two) and leaving with 10 healthy meals ready to pop in the freezer? YOU BET. I had always heard of the Dream Dinners concept, but never did it. The fact that this party involved organic, natural, healthy ingredients? Super bonus land for me!!

I have a ton of freezer meal things pinned on my pinterest boards¬†that I have yet to utilize.¬† Why?¬† Because it’s just ME.¬† They look great, but then they just sit there. I decided to bite the bullet and go for it.

It took me exactly two hours to prep and prepare the meals before/during the party.¬† I got to stick TEN meals in my freezer.¬† AWESOMENESS.¬† The good news? My family (and by that I mean ALL FIVE of us) loved every meal!¬† Score!¬† I loved it so much I ended up hosting my own freezer meal party last month.¬† It was SO much fun — I got to have 10 of my friends over for a girls’ night in and by the end of the night all of our lives were easier. (By the way, it cost me about $140 for all of the ingredients for the first party, if you are wondering. I also had enough of the spices/oils left to make every meal at LEAST once more, so it’s pretty budget friendly.)

Last night we had Herb Crusted Tilapia.

How the meal comes out of the freezer

You can definitely grill it, but as we were feeling lazy, we opted to bake it (at 400¬į for 20 minutes, flipping the filets after 10 minutes) this time.¬†We¬†added just a touch of grated parm and squeezed some fresh lemon juice¬†on top after we took it out of the oven.¬† My kids typically only eat fish in stick form, but I¬†keep trying.¬†¬†This recipe?¬† COMPLETE SUCCESS!!¬† All three of them¬†gobbled it up and my 9 year old even had¬†another helping. I was so happy!

If you ever host such a party, I highly recommend putting your own meals together either the day before or the day after.¬† I really enjoyed just strolling around with a glass of wine, filling up people’s plates with munchies, refilling drinks and getting to talk to everyone.¬† It was great.¬† Also — if you buy your proteins (fish, chicken, etc.) at Sam’s or Costco or someplace like that, you’ll probably have extras like I did.¬†¬†The first time I did this I wasn’t sure what I was doing so I just froze the extras¬†plain in freezer bags.¬† This time,¬†I made some of the recipes 2 or¬†3 times instead of just one.¬† I ended up with 18 meals this time!¬† Woohoo!¬† The other thing is, have plenty of healthy snacks — I served cheese and sesame crackers, raw veggies, fruit and mango salsa with whole grain chips.¬† I also got¬†a 3-pack of¬†some frozen¬†yummy pizzas¬†when I did my meal prep shopping in case anyone wanted to hang out and stay for dinner which ended up being great, as 4 or 5 ladies stuck around for awhile.

I was thinking last night about how much I love opening up my freezer during our crazy, busy weeks and having a big selection of yummy, healthy meals waiting for me to just pop on the grill or into the oven, so I thought I’d share.

*Side note*¬† I am NOT in any way affiliated with Wildtree — I have simply become a big fan of their products and this party idea.¬† I definitely support you finding a Wildtree rep in your own area to host your own party if it sounds like a good idea to you, too!¬† So much fun!!

About taramljourneytohealth

This is it -- my story, my family's story -- the good, the bad, and the very, very stinky. Usually the bad days make the funniest stories...fair warning, they usually involve poop and some level of tears (possibly mine).
This entry was posted in Around the house, Healthy Me, I Lurve This, Nom Nom Nom, Try This At Home, Where Would I Be Without My Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me -- I love to get comments and feedback!

