And First Place Goes To….

So, as it turns out, even if you have a Facebook page dedicated to health and fitness, you can find yourself in a huge slump.  Who knew?

I have the exercise thing figured out.  I truly do love my Beachbody programs — they keep me from getting bored and allow me to get fit/strong at home.  I get in walks and runs in my neighborhood.  I exercised ALL summer long!  I did my first 90 Day program. Go, me!

I KNOW about good nutrition.  I know how to fuel my body to stay healthy and strong.  I truly DO love Shakeology and will drink it until they quit making it.  (I don’t think they’ll ever quit making it, so there ya go.)  I am not a great baker but I am a pretty competent cook and find it easy to modify most any recipe to make healthy, delicious dishes that my whole family can enjoy. I have tracked my food all summer long, even on vacation!

So why am I in a slump?  Why is it so hard for me to make any progress with regard to my own weight loss goals?

Simple.  I’ve put anything and everything in First Place in my life, ahead of God.

Three years ago, I lost 60 lbs.  I distinctly remember a dinner party with a group of girlfriends where I spent pretty much the entire evening talking about my weight loss.  (Not that I was running around talking about it, but person after person asked me about it over the course of the evening.)  I remember telling them “Ya know, I really just watched what I ate and exercised regularly.  That’s about it.”

WRONG.  Want to know what the REAL answer is?

I put God in First Place.  Every day.  In everything.

I was part of a Christ-centered weight loss group that met every week.  I went EVERY week.  I stuck to the commitments of the group, ALL of which focused on GOD.  I experienced extraordinary success.

The group stopped meeting.  I stopped doing everything except paying attention to what I was eating and working out.  I took God out of First Place and the plateau began.  I have yet to get the train moving again.

I don’t have time and to be honest, don’t really WANT to do another in-person meeting.  I DO have a strong need and desire to be accountable to people about who and what I am choosing to put in First Place.  I’d love to say that I’m the type of person who will tell you “Yeah, I do my Bible Study EVERY morning.  I have prayer time EVERY day.  I work on memorizing scripture EVERY day.”  No.  I don’t.  It’s not me.  UNLESS I know someone’s going to ask me about it.  That probably sounds backwards and ridiculous to some, but it’s the truth and more importantly, it’s MY truth.  I also know that I’m not alone.  I know I’m not.

So.  Here’s where I’m at.

I am feeling led to start a Facebook group for women who want to put God in First Place with regards to their health.  *Listen to me.*  I didn’t say women who want to lose weight.  (Yes, you are welcome in my group — but not just you.)  You can join my group if it would help your health to GAIN some weight.  You can come on in if you need to focus on your MENTAL health.  Get on board if you need to lower your cholesterol.  Whatever it is, if your health is an issue for you in any way, shape or form and you feel like you would like to be part of a group of women who are committed to supporting each other in a Christ-centered environment, join us.

By the way, I don’t care if you EVER go to church. I don’t care if you go to Church every Sunday and Wednesday, even on vacation.  I don’t care what denomination you are or aren’t.  I also don’t care if you are simply curious about a relationship with Jesus.

YOU. ARE. WELCOME. IN. MY. GROUP.

Please also understand that you are NOT welcome if you have any inclination to judge the people or conversations in this group.  It will be a SAFE place…I will not tolerate drama or breaking the confidentiality of the group and I *will* boot you out if either become an issue.  We will be like Vegas without the drama — what happens there, stays there.  End of story.  That said, I’m generally a nice person. (Obviously, right? Ha!)

I am not a counselor, pastor, priest, expert, nutritionist, nurse, trainer, or anything like that.  I’m a very imperfect woman who knows that she needs the help of other like-minded people to get her life back in order.  That’s all.  You’re joining a group led by a believer who just might make other believers cringe — so know that ahead of time and lower those expectations.  I guarantee you, if you’re not supposed to think it, say it or do it — I’ve probably thought it, said it or done it…and maybe even today.

So, here’s the deal.  Either message me or leave a comment with your email if you’d like me to send you an intro to the group and what it will be about.  Then you can decide if you’d like to join.  You are also free to extend this invitation to friends/family who also might need a boost.

*big breath out*

Being honest usually jumpstarts my anxiety (which is a huge struggle for me).  Starting new adventures is scary.  Right now I feel anxiously excited and frightened.  Most of all, I feel hopeful because I know I am setting myself up to succeed by taking myself out of First Place.

Be blessed today!

About taramljourneytohealth

This is it -- my story, my family's story -- the good, the bad, and the very, very stinky. Usually the bad days make the funniest stories...fair warning, they usually involve poop and some level of tears (possibly mine).
This entry was posted in Blessed, Feeling Nostalgic, God Moments, Healthy Me, Prayer Warriors Unite!, Strong Is The New Skinny, Try This At Home, Where Would I Be Without My Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me -- I love to get comments and feedback!